Form and Shape, Mass and Volume

This week’s assignments were to divide three pages into four sections each and then sketch in a defined technique on each section of the page.

The first page was to include cross contour drawings. I initially thought the cross contours were going to be a complete cakewalk but those things are really tough.  I don’t feel like I was doing it right but I just couldn’t really wrap my head around the idea of it.  As I’m working more in this course, it is becoming more natural and fluid to incorporate this though.

img_1

The second page was a study of light and dark and how they work differently to create volume.  I really thought that the light and dark volume page was going to be my least favorite but I really loved it.  It was very simple and it amazed me how the images just appeared with very little effort on my end at all.

img_2

The third page and method was negative space sketches.  I really enjoyed getting creative with this technique as well.  I’m glad that I chose to use the same items for some of the different techniques so I could really get a good idea of the differences and similarities with each technique.

img_3

I have learned that I REALLY need to keep track of my fixative spray, as I misplaced it and it definitely would have been helpful with this as my negative space sketches were a complete mess by the end, regardless of how careful I had been.

 

Leave a Reply

