Form and Shape; Mass and Volume- Midterm Project!

Using skills and techniques I have learned from assignments and sketching exercises, I was to find or create a composition which emphasizes Shape and Form, Mass and Volume.
IMG_5889.jpgAnd, honestly the freedom in finding a subject with this project was actually the most confining part for me… it took the longest time to decide on something and once I came across this by chance while out one day and knew it had to be the one.

I was out one day at Carolina Peddlers Mall, in Lumberton, NC and this truck was one of the old rustic displays out from of the shopping center.

I started with a basic outline and some initial shading just to get an idea of what I wanted to do with it.  I then added some color for the sky and tried to get some of the detail out of the way, especially with the pallet flag in the back of the truck.  It was a great assignment and I feel like I chose a great subject.  This was my first sketch with any significant amount of color.  I was so afraid but glad I just dove right in.

Leave a Reply

