Complex shapes

So this assignment seems fun!! I was to create a composition with complex shapes. This particular still life called for a minimum of 5 items with complex shapes. So I ended up going around grabbing things around the house that I encounter on a regular basis and wanted to construct a fluid, yet strange still life set from them.

I have my dslr, a PS4 controller, my hairbrush, a neoprene dumbbell and a green bamboo bowl with a mix of ivy and some other unidentified plant.  I used a soft graphite pencil to do initial outlining and such, then came back in with a charcoal pencil.  I used a soft compressed charcoal for the background and a good bit of the shading as well.  Colored pencils for the small amount of color I added.

IMG_7543The controller was the most trying item to draw and strangely it is the one I am most happy with.  Funny how that works. 🙂

Leave a Reply

